#SFFpit Success Story + Pitch Critique Giveaway

Another #SFFpit is coming up in December so I figured it was a good time to share my success story!

Over the years I’ve entered a variety of contests but never got in. I’ve done pitch parties. I’ve stalked #MSWL and emailed queries. The rejections sucked, of course, but I didn’t let it get me down. I figured if this manuscript got me nowhere, maybe the next one would. Or the next.

Fragile Chaos was the third manuscript I queried, although not the third I’ve written. I only sent out about two dozen queries before #SFFpit. I put together a 140-character pitch and went for it.

I got a few favorites—one of them from Radiant Crown Publishing, a new publishing imprint of Cherubim Scribes. I had never heard of them before so I checked out their website. They had nice branding, an awesome mission statement, and seemed open in their F.A.Q. answers. But I hesitated to submit, not because they were new, but because they preferred a length of 60,000 words or less.

I think it was something like two weeks later that I decided what the heck. As John Greenleaf Whittier said, “For all sad words of tongue and pen, the saddest are these, ‘It might have been’.” The worst that could happen was they saw my word count and sent a rejection. It wouldn’t be my first, it wouldn’t be my last. I crossed my fingers and hit send.

But instead of a rejection, I got a full request. *Cue embarrassing happy dance*

Then, days later, they followed me back on Twitter and sent me a message that they would be emailing me at the end of the week. *Cue heart attack*

I’m pretty sure I wasn’t easy to live with that week because I was a distracted mess. Was I reading too much into that message? Maybe they wanted an R&R so I shouldn’t get too excited. (Right? I don’t know! Maybe?!)

Then the email came. We talked about the book and expectations. They answered all the questions I had in detail, answering questions I didn’t know I had in the process. I read over the contract 100x, clarified a couple things, and took a few days to think things over. Obviously, I signed the contract! *Cue flailing*

Now Fragile Chaos is now coming out July 2017!

Radiant Crown has been amazing so far. They’ve been open to my suggestions and ask for my opinion while keeping me in the loop every step of the way. I couldn’t be happier working with them!

If you’re hesitating to enter a pitch contest, don’t! Go for it! They aren’t the only path to publication, but they do work.

Now for the contest!

I’m giving away three separate pitch critiques plus one pitch + query letter critique. I will do one pass on the query, and three on each pitch. (Each winner may send up to 3 different pitches.)

Enter the Rafflecopter here. Winners will be chosen on November 6,2016.

Leave a Reply

